Tags

, ,

My baby sister is a High School Chemistry teacher and part of her curriculum is that she teaches a Forensic Science course. On Friday, I chaperoned a field trip to the Metro Crime Lab, County Jail, Evidence Storage, and listened to THE District Judge. I  could write for hours on the things I learned, but I thought I’d share my favorite. At the crime lab, we saw a 3-D recreation of a crime scene on a laptop. The county received a federal grant and with the money bought a laser that scans crime scenes. Once, the scene is scanned, it transmits it to a computer where it recreates a digital image and with that they can do a variety of things including pasting on top an actual photograph so it looks like you are almost standing at the spot yourself.  A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. I had no idea.

On this trip, I had an epiphany about several things I needed to do to make my book more accurate, more real, which I can’t wait to change. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity, that I’m very grateful that I could attend. (She gave it to me as my birthday gift! Thank-you.)  And my husband’s step-mom watched the bambinos.  I’m thankful for everyone who made this possible for me and if you ever get the opportunity to see any of these places, go, go, go.

