Today is New Year’s Eve and I admit I hate resolutions. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for improving yourself, but if you know you should change something or you desire to make a change, why  wait until the end of December? Why not do it when you recognize it? I could write pages and pages of why I dislike this tradition, but I’ll spare you the drivel.
Instead, I thought I’d like to share three personal things about me that have nothing to do with my writing. Things that if you don’t know me in person, you might not know.

1. In person, I’m warm and very friendly. People comment on it all the time, but what they don’t realize is that I’m very guarded about certain things in my life. As they say, I keep things close to the vest. You might have picked up on that while reading this blog.

2. I am not tactile. I don’t like people encroaching on my space. In fact, I feel uncomfortable when people pat my arm, hug me, or try to hold my arm. There are a few exceptions, my husband, my children, and my parents. The funny thing is that until five years ago, I’d say I was tactile, but my husband and sister started making fun of my “man hugs”. You know the one, where your butt sticks out, your torso doesn’t touch the other person and you pat them on the back. It took me a week to finally admit that they were right.

3. I am not an adrenaline junkie, but I love to Rollerblade. Somehow I don’t think this is acceptable for women my age. I have yet to see other moms blading, but here’s the thing. I don’t care. It brings me such pleasure to feel the ground moving beneath my feet, the tiny bit of air I get when I jump a curb, or the liberating feeling when I race down the hills. Seriously, if you haven’t tried this, you really should.

Tonight when you are toasting the New Year and probably making your resolutions (ugh), I hope you take a moment to remember and appreciate the things that make you…you.

Have a happy and safe New Years and I hope to hear from you in 2012.

