Tags

, , ,

I read several books over the break, some for pleasure and some for help with the craft of writing. And I gotta say, that I found Writing the Breakout Novel very helpful. It provides tips for characters, setting, pacing and plots including subplots. However, and this is a big one, don’t read this book until you are done with your first draft and are struggling with editing. I know that sounds unconventional, but this book is supposed to help your book become a “breakout” novel, meaning it takes it to the next level. It teaches you how to make it shine and best of all keep the reader reading. Isn’t that what we really want? To keep them reading until they absolutely have to put it down?

It’s what I want. There are only a handful of books that have kept me so enthralled with the story and characters that I literally read until I can no longer ignore life, or the children, or the husband and then I’m annoyed that I had to put it down. (Lucky for me, I’m a speed reader and can finish most three hundred page books by the end of the day with a few interruptions.) That’s what I want my readers to feel when they read my words, that longing to stay with the characters until the very last word and then wish that the story continued so they could spend more time with them. If that’s what you desire too, then I recommend reading this book.

What do you want your readers to feel when they read your story?

