I collect quotes and when I was younger, I compiled a binder of them. However, with my attention diverted a thousand different ways, I tend to scribble quotes on whatever is handy. I stumbled upon this one while searching for a piece of paper to write the grocery list on and thought I’d share it with you.  Unfortunately, I didn’t write the name of the person who said it.

“That which we obtain too easily we esteem too lightly.”

I make sacrifices with my running to get the pay off. I run odd hours or in cold weather and I don’t always want to do it. However, I do want to accomplish a 5k, a 10k, a half marathon, a full marathon and one I’m debating is an Ultra which is 50 miles. Now some of these I’ve already accomplished but I continue to run them because I can improve and because I love the feeling of achievement. Without that sacrifice, the accomplishment would diminish.

What are you willing to sacrifice for and why?

